Houston Assault Attorney
Being charged with assault is a serious issue, as it can lead to stiff penalties, up to and including jail time. If you are dealing with assault charges, a Houston assault attorney is what you need to fight back.
Texas Penal Code §5.22.01 Defines Assault as:
The State of Texas has a strict definition for assault, and it includes the following:
• Causing harm to another person
• Threatening someone else
• Provocative or offensive physical contact
Legal Reprecussions for Assault
The potential punishments given out during assault cases vary, depending on circumstances. A misdemeanor charge is limited to a max fine of $4,000 and up to 12 months in jail. In comparison, felony assault charges can be much more severe, with up to $10,000 in fines and 10 to 20 years of prison.
Types of Assault
Generally speaking, Texas delineates assault charges into two groups: Simple and aggravated. Simple assault is any intentional, knowing, or reckless act that harms somebody. Simply swinging a fist a someone is enough to qualify as a simple assault in this state. Aggravated assault charges include cases where a serious bodily injury occurs. Or, it can happen when a deadly weapon is involved.
Dropping Assault Charges
The victim does not bring assault charges up in this state, so they may not drop them. Since the authorities bring them up, a legal process must be followed.
Contact the Law Office Of Jesse Hernandez for more info regarding assault charge defense in Texas.